Hinweise zum Einsatz der Google Suche
Personensuchezur unisono Personensuche
Veranstaltungssuchezur unisono Veranstaltungssuche
Katalog plus

General Information about the University of Siegen

The University of Siegen is a modern university located centrally in Germany in the federal state North Rhine-Westphalia. It is home to over 19.000 students out of which 12% are international students. The university offers a total of 126 degree programmes at different levels (B.Sc., M.Sc. etc.) across five faculties:

Faculty I: Arts and Humanities
Faculty II: Education, Architecture & Arts
Faculty III: Business Economics, Business IT and Commercial Law
Faculty IV: Science and Engineering
Faculty V: Life Sciences


Faculty of Science and Technology

The faculty of Science and Technology is divided into six departments namely

  1. Civil Engineering
  2. Chemistry and Biology
  3. Electrical Engineering – Computer Science
  4. Mathematics
  5. Mechanical Engineering
  6. Physics

Currently, the Faculty of Science and Technology offers five international graduate master programs in

  1. Chemistry
  2. Computer science 
  3. Mechatronics
  4. Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
  5. Physics 

The medium of instruction in these courses is English. Each master program has a duration of two years, which is divided into 4 semesters. Please note that the criteria for admission are different for every program. 

A short history of the University of Siegen
The tradition of the city of Siegen as a home of education and science goes back to the 16th century when in 1536 Wilhelm established a Latin school (high school) within the walls of the city. In 1853 the foundation of the present day university was set in form countries best "Wiesenbauschule" (construction school). After the 2nd World War, the main focus of the education shifted in the direction of training in civil engineering. Therefore, 1962, the institute was named “National Engineering School of Civil Engineering".
With the establishment of the "Teacher Training College" in 1964, the academic tradition of Siegen was revived. In 1965, the institute became the Pädagogische Hochschule Westfalen-Lippe (Educational University Westfalen-Lippe), which marked its transformation into a scientific university. On 1 August 1972, the comprehensive university development act led to the foundation of the University of Siegen with the goal to provide more equal opportunities in the education system and to increase the number of universities across the state. Since then, the University of Siegen has continued to build a strong and vivid research and teaching program with excellent faculty members and facilities. 

Hinweise zum Einsatz der Google Suche